Laundry Day

I almost always try to buy used and since most of the stuff that I usually want is antique it works out well. I have been looking for a hand wringer for my James Washer for 2 years now and couldn’t find one in good enough shape to make it worth buying. I finally just gave it up and bought a new one. This is my second washer like this, the first one was galvanized and finally rusted out. This new one is stainless steel and I’ve never had a wringer for either one until now. I don’t know if any of you has tried to wring out clothes by hand, but it’s hard and doesn’t work that well. Now I will be able to do my laundry outside on nice days and be able to just run the greywater out of my washer into the mulch bed between our garden beds. We use a biodegradable soap so it will be good for the garden. Soon we will be using rainwater from our cisterns to wash the clothes and line dry them on our great neighbor Judith’s clothesline. Our friend Cathe has a great recipe for laundry detergent too, so we should be in good shape in the laundry dept. from here on. Today I will be doing laundry and planting potato’s and peas. The onions, and spinach are planted and our winter spinach is still doing great. It feels like spring is here!

7 responses to “Laundry Day

  1. Oooh. The luxuries in life. A clothes wringer! Love it.

  2. It’s funny how little things can make life better.

  3. I used a wringer back in the back-to-the-land days – that is until my friend’s 3 year old son who was happily helping me got his arm caught in the wringer and ended up having to get skin grafting on his arm! Gave me nightmares for months!!

  4. If you get feeling nostalgic you can use ours. You can get Tom to crank it for you.

  5. Cant wait to see how it works out for you!

  6. Very cool. Our house came with a wringer, and I’m afraid we didn’t value it at the time. Someone offered to take it off our hands to plant flowers in it. You’re making me wonder what I was thinking, although laundry for two versus laundry for six…..well……Want to share your laundry soap recipe?

  7. My grandmother in Ohio used an old washer with a wringer on it. Brings back memories. … Could you share the laundry soap recipe?

Leave a Reply

