Laundry Detergent Recipe

My friend Cathe came over and we made liquid laundry detergent a couple of nights ago. It is really easy and doesn’t take very long, and is really cheap. I will give the ingredients for a single batch, but we did it times 5 so we probably have our years supply of detergent. The bar soap in the picture is different than the one we used in our soap, we used Fels Naptha. Margaret suggests next time I should try Kirks Castile, it is a little better on the environment and since I will be using my washer in the backyard I probably will give that a try. I have to be careful because I am allergic to a lot of different detergents and soaps. While Cathe was adding 6 cups of hot water to a stainless pot, I used the kitchenaid with the grater attachment to grind up the bar soap, you use 1/3 of a bar to the 6 cups of water. Then you stir in 1/4 cup of borax, and 1/2 cup of washing soda powder which is different than regular baking soda. You can get all of these ingredients at some regular grocery stores. Stir on low for 5 mins and then let set for 5 more mins. Put 1/2 of the mixture in 2 different gallon jugs and then fill with hot water. Let set for 24 hours before using. I put mine in some 1/2 gallon canning jars I have and my stick mixer will fit through the top so I can mix it before using because it separates. Use 1/2 cup per load and I will be using white vinegar in the rinse water for a softner. That’s it, penny’s per load,easy to make, and doesn’t break me out. It’s time to do laundry again today and will probably do some bread and work in the garden. Sounds like its going to be a great day to be outside.
Leave a Reply

