Quality and Passion

Gloria and I were setting around talking to Todd and Sarah last night. The topic was the furniture in the living and dining room. But it wasn’t just about furniture, it was about quality and the feeling you get from certain house’s, furniture etc. What got me started off on this rambling post is, arranging the furniture in the living room, and how few houses I could think of where the TV wasn’t the focal point of the living room. I would like to change that in our house. I can tell that the wood cookstove is going to be the heart of our house, that warmth, coziness, and contentment that goes with something when it’s just right. I also have that feeling about some of our friends art around the house that I don’t get from the starvin artists sales. They have a part of themselves in their paintings. I get that same feeling at our friends Jack and Leann’s house when we go there, pottery, fiber arts, and sculptures of things I can actually tell what are. Thanks Jack I’m easily confused and not artsy at all. I also get that feeling around skeins of wool for knitting, we could have a wall of shelves with naturally dyed wool that might or might not ever get used and I would very happy. I guess my point is, I can’t describe what it is that draws me, but I know it when I see it, hear it, taste it or feel it. We have made a great start of it with the pergola that Todd built, the gardens and alternative energy changes. That’s a heck of a way to describe what I want our house to become.

Leave a Reply

